L’Oréal and UNESCO award Sub-Saharan Africa fellowships

loréal fundation

The L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO have awarded €10,000 each to three women as part of the For Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Fellowships.

The recipients of the Post-Doctoral Fellowships are: Rasheedat Mahamood, from the University of Johannesburg, South Africa; Zebib Yumus, from iThemba LABS of the National Research Foundation in Cape Town, South Africa; and Jandeli Niemand, from the University of Pretoria, South Africa.

Nine women were also awarded Doctoral Fellowships of €5,000 each. These include: Nomvano Mketo, Gaelle Kafira KO, Shobna Sawry, Majidah Hamid-Adiamoh, Jinal Bhiman, Olubokola Adenubi, Olotu Ifeoluwa (Nigeria), Danielle Twilley and Edith Chepkorir.

All of the women were awarded the fellowships based on their academic talents, contributions and potential in the field of STEM (science, technology, engineering and maths). Sandeep Rai, Managing Director of L’Oréal South Africa said: “For the last 17 years, with the For Women In Science programme, we have been fighting to advance the cause of women scientists worldwide.

« Much has been achieved: more than 2,000 women have been recognised worldwide, the program has gained recognition from the international scientific community, a springboard to enable women to go further and rise to greater heights. Science is part of our DNA and we are really proud of all the women who continue to make a difference in Africa through our programme.”

The L’Oréal Foundation aims to support women working in scientific research as well as helping people boost their self-esteem through beauty via its other programme, Beauty for a Better Life.

Source : L’Oréal and UNESCO award Sub-Saharan Africa fellowships